Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S

RossGoodman
Topic Author

Next Kite - Cesium or Gemini ?

Tue Aug 16, 2005 12:36 pm

Not wanting to start a fight but ......

Bearing in mind I'm still a rank beginner and I know I should master the kites I have ........ I must buy just one more .....

LOL

Won't happen for a few months but I have noticed:

Gemini - Everyone has one, is there anything it can't do ?
Cesium - Getting good reviews (and I think it looks nice)

Opinions ?

bevnutrino
FA Supporter
FA Supporter

Re: Next Kite - Cesium or Gemini ?

Tue Aug 16, 2005 3:53 pm

RossGoodman wrote:

Not as such, but it does resist some of the newer tricks eg.comets - they can be done, but it's not the best kite to learn on.

However, I've never flown a Cesium so am unable to comment on that kite's abilities.

aphelps
FA Supporter
FA Supporter

Tue Aug 16, 2005 4:16 pm

A Cesium will do most if not all of what a Gemini will do, for about £40 less (unless you can find a second-hand Gem).
:D
Andy

RoyReed

Re: Next Kite - Cesium or Gemini ?

Tue Aug 16, 2005 4:49 pm

The Cesium also comes fitted with yoyo stoppers as standard (the Gem doesn't).

bevnutrino wrote:
RossGoodman wrote:

Not as such, but it does resist some of the newer tricks eg.comets - they can be done, but it's not the best kite to learn on.

On the other hand the Gem does better axels, backspins and 540s than the Cesium - flatter, smoother and more elegant.

You could of course have the best of both worlds and wait a couple of weeks for a Deep Space ;)
Must fly
Roy
REEDDESIGN Web Design

Bastiaan
FA Supporter
FA Supporter

Tue Aug 16, 2005 8:44 pm

I think that they represent slightly different styles and therefore you should get them both. One day you will be having them both, get the cessium first since it is cheaper and comes with nice lines and straps.
I second hand gemini will appear once the deep space is available!
Bastiaan.

Jest_of_EVE
FA Supporter
FA Supporter