Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S

Gary Matthews
FA Supporter
FA Supporter
Topic Author

So whats been happening lately????

Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:12 pm

Blimey, in the last 2/3 years, Kiting has seemed to be in the dulldrums I feel, is it the ever lasting recession that has taken its toll, (I know a the shops have taken a battering), there just does not seem to be the enthusiasm that there once was, UK teams, Uk Individual fliers seemed to have "found" other activities to occupy their time (I'll include myself btw ;) )
Just trying to find out why its happened...looking at some of the Berck photos this week, It still seems to be as popular as ever in Europe, but why not the UK?..looking forward to some replies.

SkyRags

Re: So whats been happening lately????

Tue Apr 23, 2013 2:27 am

I guess I can comment as Im new to the sport with a lot of enthusiasm - in fact after you read this you will probably understand my reason for starting my FaceBook Page - Stunt Kite Aotearoa

For me - the 'cool part' of stunt kiting is the 'tricks' that stunt kites could do

I cant actually remember what actually caused me to get addicted though...

I had a crappy little kite that I couldnt even fly properly - this was mainly due to flying ignorance (where, when, how, why things happen etc etc ), basically the science behind it all

So I dropped kite flying for a couple of years - I think I rememeber seeing someone flying a stunter and causing it to hover/stall - I rememeber thinking, how the hell is he doing that? - I dont rememeber him pulling off any actual tricks though...

A year or two later - I decided I wanted to have a play and looked up kite tricks - lo and behold - there was a big world of tricks etc...but I still didnt get how the type of kite plays a major part in tricks