Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S

Jules
Topic Author

KRD Element setup and stuff

Sun Apr 01, 2012 8:11 pm

After the acquisition of my KRD element and a long wait for a nice mud-free field and nice wind conditions, I've finally got around to flying my new Element.

I was expecting an out-of-the-ordinary kite in many ways and it does seem to be just that. I’m not an expert by any means but you’ve gotta start somewhere eh?

I can see that it will do wonderful flat-spins and will be very pitchy once I get the hang of it. Here, however is the reason for writing because I was a bit lost with my KRD element. I say that because I was having problems accomplishing the tricks I can do my other kites.

Now, I know this is notoriously an atypical kite, but this one just didn't want to pull on the lines at all, even in a decent wind. It didn't really want to take off and even when I got it in the air it had little to no pull. Well, I have readjusted the bridle and the results I've now got suite me better. Nevertheless, I'd really like to compare notes on the kite and how other people’s experiences have been.

After fiddling around with the bridle I have the following dimensions:
Uphaul 54.5cm
Outhaul 52cm (2nd knot is at 56cm)
Inhaul 64.5cm

How do these compare with stock and any one else’s favourite setting?

My model only has one standoff and also a keeper line between the uphaul and outhaul that is fixed on the uphaul near the anchor points but slides along the inhaul. (See the photos.)

How does this seem to everyone?

Cheers,

Jules
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Zippy8

Re: KRD Element setup and stuff

Mon Apr 02, 2012 7:29 pm

Jules wrote:
My model only has one standoff....

That's not normal.

... and also a keeper line between the uphaul and outhaul that is fixed on the uphaul near the anchor points but slides along the inhaul.