Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S, Jason

Armand Tamsarian
Topic Author

Absolute beginner with a cheap kite!

Mon May 11, 2009 12:28 am

Hi

Not sure if this is the right forum for me as it seems pretty expert-level on here but anyway...

I recently decided to try flying a dual line kite to try and impress my 4 yr old son!

I have absolutely no experience and so have bought a very cheap, and possibly nasty, kite (HQ Quickstep II- £20) on the assumption that I have every chance of smashing it into pieces on my first go. If all goes well I will upgrade to a less embarrassing model.

Anyway as I am clueless and most of you appear to know what you're doing I have one question....

If you could offer me one piece of advice what would it be?

I am looking for pearls of kite-wisdom here.

Cheers chaps!

Infinitive

Mon May 11, 2009 12:42 am

I know it is a bit beyond your request but I'll offer two.

1: Make sure your lines are the same length.

2: Keep your hands close together, in front of you, not over your head or out by your sides.

3: Fly on a big flat area with the maximum amount of flat ground behind you, when I say big I mean MASSIVE. Not a pokey little park with trees all around you - trees are the enemy of kites, not because you can get them caught in them, but because they make the wind unpredictable and irritating, especially for beginnners.

That was three, I lied. 8) Welcome hope you enjoy the kite.
-------------------------------------- Al --------------------------------------

Jason
FA Supporter
FA Supporter

Mon May 11, 2009 12:53 am

What Al said^^^^^^^^

Plus... Let all the lines out. Don't start with 10 feet and then try and let it out "as you go" that doesn't work. And make sure you're standing with the wind coming from behind you facing downwind. Seems obvious but you'd be surprised.

Good luck.
Jason.

Armand Tamsarian
Topic Author

Mon May 11, 2009 12:54 am

I'm writing these down...keep 'em coming!