Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S, Jason

JamieS
Topic Author

Help - Basics

Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:14 am

Hi,

I've been flying for a few months now, can do a pretty consistant right hand axel (left hand is constant wing tip wraps), hold a fade (from the ground in the right wind), but have been having trouble with Half Axels and Pancakes. So I've decided to go back to the basics as I never really spent any time with them.

The problem is there are no local flyers and I'm not sure what I should be learning/practising to get the basics..

Any suggestions help would be great.

Thanks

J

Vee
FA Supporter
FA Supporter

Sun Aug 03, 2008 1:42 pm

Local to where? you might be suprised to find there is a marvelous flying site 5 miles down the road where FAer's lurk from time to time, or possibly not, be we can't tell without knowing roughly where you are.

Anyway, from a precision fliers point of view, basics would include holding a straight line (more difficult than it sounds!) a selection of push, pull & combination turns & where it's appropriate to use them, landings (2 point & leading edge), recoveries (cartwheels, leading edge take offs) and stalls (hesitation & snap). Getting a good snap stall can lead to tricks becoming an awful lot easier to set up, being able to hold a stall teaches you to move your feet, something you'll do a lot of during tricking. Perhaps you could move on to tip stands to practice balance & slack.

Standard disclaimer: My opinions only, worth what you paid for them.
Love Veeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Needs to fly more, now that I can.

JamieS
Topic Author

Sun Aug 03, 2008 1:58 pm

Thanks Vee, thats a good start. I'm based in Melksham (half way between Bristol and Swindon in the middle of no where!).

Jest_of_EVE
FA Supporter
FA Supporter
Location: The exact opposite side of the planet to New Zealand - Bummer!

Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:15 pm