Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S, Jason

Sub
Topic Author

Axel to Fade ~ Tips please

Tue Feb 12, 2008 6:56 pm

Been working my axel to fade but am finding my technique is probably making them unpredictable.
Is it best to bring it in "hot", like a spin axel to follow though in the momentum? I seem to find there's a natural flow when aproaching like this.
If I snap stall, set the axel up, then the input for the fade doesn't always follow through with predictable results.
Curious to know what your tried and tested way is.

ObijuanKenobe

Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:05 pm

I learned via a tip from Lars.

I started learning by first flying a large high circle from center to side, on the turn down and back into center, turn sharp to spin (keep the momentum as you describe), and then axel pop, and pull to fade. However, once I got the hang of this, the axel to fade from a stall also started to just happen.

I think one key to the axel to fade is making sure to give enough slack so that the kite pauses just a bit nose-away. Then you can catch the kite with both lines in this position to pull to fade.

obi
"When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return." L daVinci

Bodyflight

Tue Feb 12, 2008 7:52 pm

I've just written this then read Obi's post above. So this is just elaborating on what he said, really.

Fly downward and do a pancake to fade a few times to get a feeling for it.
Then try popping a few normal axels gently from the nose up position. Rather than letting the axel complete, watch for the point when the nose is dead away from you (the same as the pancake) and at that point walk forward to keep the kite floating balanced in that position, kinda gliding vaguely downwind. Notice that at any point now you can pop the lines to flip the kite into a fade, just like you did above.