Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S, Jason

yeswehavetheright
Topic Author

Pulling not popping

Fri Jun 09, 2006 3:17 pm

Hi guys,
I'm having major trouble with flat spins and lazies. Basically when I try to pop the kite when horizontal I just seem to pull the kite out of the sky each time rather than get it to spin. A while back I was managing to get 540's fairly consistently, but now it's not happening at all. So I guess I'm not popping right but I just can't seem to figure out how to improve this.
Also, when I put the kite onto it's back to try a lazy it seems to just fall (usually one wing tip first) and tangle with the lines.
As you might guess I'm a novice! Hope you can help as I'm consistently getting this wrong and it's doing my head in!
Cheers.

slippery

Fri Jun 09, 2006 5:39 pm

im having similar trouble converting to a DS from a gem, the DS is much easier to pull backwards, casing it to drop out, i think the answer lays not in the pop, but in the slack, :)

hope this helps

RoyReed

Fri Jun 09, 2006 7:32 pm

For 540s it helps to have the wing you're pulling (not popping - it's back to the starting an outboard motor analogy) slightly higher than the other - and then loads of slack - you can't have too much.
Must fly
Roy
REEDDESIGN Web Design

yeswehavetheright
Topic Author

Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:40 pm

Thanks - like the outboard motor analagy!

S4

Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:28 pm

During the flattening out phase try offsetting your hands ie lead with your left for a right hand pull, vice versa..

whisky

Wed Jun 14, 2006 7:22 pm

S4 wrote:
During the flattening out phase try offsetting your hands ie lead with your left for a right hand pull, vice versa..