Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S, Jason

Palmahnic
Topic Author

Advice needed on my 1st ultralight kite

Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:30 pm

Hi all,
Brief introduction, as this is my first topic, and responded just a couple of times before. My name's Iftah, 37, been flying a Prism Quantum, and for the last five months a Premier Widow NG. I'm an advanced beginner, I guess, just about a year and a half in, performing nice clean half-axles, flic-flacs, lazy susans, working on backspins and such. I'm learning my tricks mostly from videos, seeing as I'm possibly the only trick kite flyer in my country, as far a I know at least. I'm into tricks, not precision. Got a few decent flying fields here, but it's mostly the beach or this big agricultural field further inland.

Seeing as summer will bring mostly low winds to my area, I'm looking to invest in a hand-made ultralight kite, for winds of 3kmh and up. I've read loads of reviews, and wanted your opinion on what I should get. I would like your opinions for the European kite builder, and I will post a similar message on the forum across the pond, for their builders.

I have a few limitations though, first being money, which unfortunately takes Lepidoptera's Bill off the list. Very unfortunately, as I really like everything about it. Also, I need something that folds its LE, due to travel needs. I'm not fond of curved LE either. I would like a full-length sail, or as close to it as possible. Something not too fast, on the forgiving side as far as inputs go. I do not need an SUL. This would probably be my only ultralight for a while, as it's pretty hard to get these kites over here, so it needs to be long term, something that I can enjoy also when my skills are more developed.

My list is not too long, please add if you feel I've missed something good, and I do appreciate your remarks on the ones listed.

1. R-Sky Nirvana LW (1st, SE, 3E) (Is it too unforgiving and fast?)