Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S, Jason

cristobal
Topic Author

Learning curve

Wed May 19, 2010 4:28 pm

I'm a total novice (as you all know), and thanks to atho I should soon have a kite to fly (many many thanks Adrian!). I am now wondering how to get started and where to go in terms of learning the basics (both "pure" flying but also starting doing some tricks). Is there like a must-own bible for stunt kites? I have visited many websites (even YouTube) where tricks are broken down but it still doesn't make much sense to me (not to mention the jargon). Any tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.

SAW

Re: Learning curve

Wed May 19, 2010 4:38 pm

Hi,

Not sure about any books but someone on here not sure who :oops: has done a PDF you can download which is good.

Trick or Treat dvd is a must 8) Prism also do a dvd which you can buy and it also normaly comes free with there kites, it's ok.

and also check out http://sportkiteflyer.spaces.live.com/

but it still doesn't make much sense to me

me too :lol:

The best tips/tricks and help will come from meeting with other flyers, believe me it's alot easier and more helpful when someone's showing you in person than watching any dvd/youtube.

HTH

Simon.

SteveC

Wed May 19, 2010 6:55 pm

http://www.seek2know.org.uk/kites/PJKites/Kites%20notes.pdf

Here is the link for 'Kite Notes' written by one of FA's regular posters Damp_ Weather. It's an excellent read for anyone getting into kite flying.