Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S

Mr_G
Topic Author

Is there any reason I shouldn't buy a Jive II?

Mon Mar 24, 2014 12:51 pm

Hi guys,

I've been flying my kite now on and off for a few years and recently I have received some money and I'm wanting to spend it on an another kite. I have around £70 and I'm thinking about going for the Jive II. Is this a reasonable choice for a beginner-ish kite? I say ish as I know how to rip around the sky and do a few basic tricks with my little Flexifoil Atom, but I haven't really gone at it properly.

My Atom isn't the parafoil Atom they currently sell, the one I have is similar to the one shown in the link below....except it's a yellowish colour..

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Flexifoil-Ato ... 7675.l2557

Is there another option I could/should look at?

SteveC

Re: Is there any reason I shouldn't buy a Jive II?

Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:33 pm

Hi,

I've owned several HQ Jive's over the years both the original and the Jive 2. The original blue Jive was one of my favourite kites but is no longer available. The Jive 2 is a decent enough kite and will do the basic tricks though I didn't think it was as good as the original. You can make the Jive 2 a lot more tricky but you need to mess around with the bridle and add extra standoffs. If you just want to do baisc tricks the Jive 2 will be fine, however, if you want to do a bit more and can run to another £20 I would look at the HQ Maestro 2 which is IMHO a better, trickier kite. You can get them for £90 on Ebay. Ebay no 370855086554.

Current Bag:- HQ Shadow, Spiderkites Zodarion, Flying Wings Soul, Old blue HQ Jive , 'PAW' modded HQ Maestro II, Delta Hawk,

Mr_G
Topic Author

Mon Mar 24, 2014 7:46 pm

Broady

Mon Mar 24, 2014 8:08 pm

The biggest positive I found with the salsa was that it collapsed down so small. Flying wise though I didn't get on with it so well. Much preferred the jive out of the 2