Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S

jaybo
Topic Author

newbie here looking for a bit of advice?

Wed May 08, 2013 1:43 pm

I bet you haven't heard that before eh?

Well, hi,

I got a bit of a bug about kites last year when we bought a cheap stunt kite on the beach at Blackpool and proceeded to smash it to bits very shortly afterwards and left it in the bin. I went home and dug my 10 year old Flexifoil Extro out of the garage and took it to the park and had immense fun with it, given that it is a tiny thing that doesn't really do much except swoop around at high speed. I lived in London when I bought it and it only got used twice as there was nowhere to fly it nearby.

Now I live near Huddersfield where there are plenty of good places to fly.

I then went the route of getting a Flexifoil Buzz 0.8 2-line power kite which is great beach fun and a Flexifoil Sting 2.4 4-line Power Kite for more of a work out.

I also got a couple of single line pocket kite things off Amazon for my young lads, (2 and 4) who haven't really shown any interest yet. :?

So... I want to try some more of the trick / stunt type of flying as I do have more fun with the Extro but I'm not really in a position to spend a fortune on something that I may smash to pieces so have been looking around for a good starter kite.

I think I've narrowed it down to a Prism Nexus or HQ Salsa II... both around the £50 mark. I had considered the HQ Limbo but that seems a bit basic and I would like to get something that might be capable of at least some trickery.

Can anybody please give me a recommendation as to which might be the best option of those, or offer an alternative at around the same price point or slightly higher maybe?

I'd be grateful for any advice and also would love to hear from anybody nearby who wouldn't mind me tagging along to pick up some tips from :cool:

Cheers,

Jaybo

SteveC

Re: newbie here looking for a bit of advice?

Wed May 08, 2013 2:23 pm