Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S

urbank
Topic Author

Building a freestyle kite

Sun May 04, 2014 9:19 pm

Hi,

I'm interested in building a kite but I'm a total newbie in the building art and I have been a bit away from the kite scene, I always admired the Le Virus but today after doing some research it looks like there is a new kite in the scene the Sixth Sense.

I wanted to ear your opinion and suggestions about the available kites in terms of flying behaviour and buildability (easy to build?) of the recommend open plan kites.

I own a Nirvana STD and I have flown an Eolo Over and I really enjoy flying those two kites.

I'm based in Southampton UK, do you have any recommendations of where to buy the materials?

Thanks

urbank
Topic Author

Re: Building a freestyle kite

Sun May 04, 2014 9:35 pm

I found a Post that answered some of my questions.
It looks like P2 is a good options due to costs?! And Le Quarts due to buildability and trickability?!4

honchoboy wrote:
:shock:
IMO Le Quartz is a great firstbuild, it will trick with the best of them. To be honest all of Sir Derefrat designs are quality. But the guide for building the quartz makes it a winner for a first build. Though I prefer the sail pattern on Christians site to the simplified version. It is very light on the lines to fly.

If you were feeling a bit more confident with your building I would also suggest the B'zar '11 as an alternative. But due to the billowing built into the centre of each sail-half it is pretty tricky to build and you need to be bang on with your skills. Sugarbaker has posted a fantastic build thread over on GWTW covering this kite but I stress it ain't for a novice builder.

The Invictus and the P2 are certainly on my to-building list. The latter could be a good option due to its low frame cost and that it leans towards higher winds.