Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S, Jason

craig855s
Topic Author

Newbie here, brand new with Robertshaw Flexifoil Pulsar

Fri Apr 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Hey all, im new to stunt kiting. I've been given,for nothing, a flexifoil pulsar (designed by carl robertshaw) without lines. I've been on ebay and purchased http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=350185708601 to use with it.

Ive flown a cheap beach delta kite for a few hours last summer but i dont know the first thing about doing stunts so i merely flew it up and down and left and right.

What i'd like to know is
a)is my kite any good? and are the lines acceptable?
b)what is each trick called and how is it done? basic ones first please (links to online tutorial videos would be great)
c)should i buy the wrist strap things? or can i just hold onto the handles ive bought on ebay

Keithgrif
FA Supporter
FA Supporter

Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:07 pm

Craig,
Welcome, you've come to the right place :-)

The kite is perfectly acceptable as a starting point, especially at that price.

The lines are a bit beefy for your needs, 150lb rather than 150kg would have been better, but they'll do for now, it may just take a bit more wind to get the kite going. There are no handles on the line you've bought though, that's just the winder, so yes, get some straps.

As for tricks, check out the tricky wiki at the top of the page, also RoyReed's site for some animations to show how the kite moves. Finally try the video tutorials by Randy G, nice slow motion and captioning.

You don't say where you are but the best option is to get to a better flying day or festival where STACK is and someone there will give you some tips I'm sure.

Good luck and have fun.
Keith
STACK UK
National Director 2006-2012

ExGrads pairs, fourth in Europe 2011!!!
Airheads team, 10th in the world 2012

craig855s
Topic Author

Fri Apr 03, 2009 7:29 pm