Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S, Jason

stephanh
Topic Author

Best kite for trick learning

Fri May 24, 2013 1:14 pm

Hey all,
Having read a few reviews on KiteClique I'm curious to get some opinions about which kite is best for trick learning. Boutique kites of course. No mass produced kite.

So here is the question. What's the best, most forgiving, will make you look good, all around kite for freestyle flying?

Thanks
Stef

Infinitive

Re: Best kite for trick learning

Fri May 24, 2013 2:14 pm

I think it is still the Benson Deep Space.

But forget looking good. I was flying the other day when a haughty arse came up and said
"you'd be having a much better time of it, if you were further from the trees."
... "what trees?"
"those ones."
... "they are four hundred meters upwind and I can't get any further away from them. the wind is fine here."
"look mate, I've been sailing for 25 years, those trees are why you can't fly your kite".
"can't fly my kite?" (is flying figure-eights without looking at the kite)
"it's all over the place, because of the trees."
... "oh I see - those are tricks."
"look mate, I've been sailing for 25 years..."
"whatever."

freestyle kiting looks bad to everyone but a freestyle kiter!
-------------------------------------- Al --------------------------------------

kareloh

Fri May 24, 2013 2:29 pm

Hahaha!

ObijuanKenobe

Fri May 24, 2013 2:37 pm

It is impressive how much you need to 'dumb' down the flying for non-fliers to be able to appreciate what is going on.

The last time this happened to me, I was being instructed by someone who did not see I had earbuds in. After I finally noticed him, I pulled them out and said hello and kept flying.

The response I heard behind me after about a minute was, "Oh shit, you are doing all that on purpose. Cool, man."

obi