Sport, Trick and Freestyle Kite Flying Forum

Moderators: Craig, Andy S, Jason

Stink_Finger
Topic Author

Correct Jacobs Ladder sequence

Sun Aug 01, 2010 6:45 pm

I've been practicing this for a few months now & can manage to pull off probably 5 or 6 'rungs', However, I'm not sure what I've learnt to do is strictly a JL!

In the thread about JL's on a DS (that's what I'm flying) the inputs are described as starting from a fade then poping one line to perform a kind of barrel roll then pulling both lines to get into the turtle position. Then a half lazy and finally an even pull to return to the fade. That's exactly what I do and as I say I'm getting 5-6 rungs. But... is that actually a true JL?

According to this description there is no 'barrel roll' after the fade. What should follow is a 180 degree flat spin into a turtle with the lines over the nose of the kite...

Would the first definition of a JL count in a TP event?
Driving a VW Camper, flying Bensons! (OS, Gemini, DS)

bryan beasley
FA Supporter
FA Supporter

Re: Correct Jacobs Ladder sequence

Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:27 pm

If it is entered from a FADE (belly up, nose toward the pilot), the kite is rotated approximately 180° so that it is belly up, nose away as in a TURTLE, but with the lines still over the leading edges and coming from under the kite. The kite is then rolled on the pitch axis so that the nose swings down and around a full 360°, into a true TURTLE

Right first time.

For it to be absolute though, you'll need to alternate left and right hand inputs for your barrel roll (half backspin) and lazy rotations.

Bryan

SAW

Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:30 pm

you'll need to alternate left and right hand inputs for your barrel roll (half backspin) and lazy rotations.

I've just started learning these and found out by trial and error that I had to do opposite inputs :D

Andy S
King of FA

Wed Aug 11, 2010 8:56 am

bryan beasley wrote: